Thursday, April 21, 2005

Hannah's Single of the Week (18/04/05)

Single of the Week:
Manic Street Preachers - 'God Save The Manics EP'
We love Nicky Wire...Well, it's not a single, so to speak, but it deserves its pride of place on WL. The God Save The Manics EP is a free download of three brand new tracks. The CD has been distributed to a few thousand lucky fans either attending the band's last gig in two years, at the Hammersmith Apollo or applying hurriedly through the post. I was one of the latter and my lovely shiny copy arrived today. The three songs on offer are a little different to the majority of those on 2004's 'Lifeblood', so anybody who was a little disappointed with last year's effort shouldn't worry. There's something for everyone.

'Secret Society' is the opening track and is decidedly more raw and rough than the over-glossy Lifeblood. There are suspiciously Nicky Wire-like backing vocals and a mention of the Libertines. Oh, so that's why the NME like it!

The strongest track on the EP is 'Firefight'. The lyrics have been penned by lead singer James Dean Bradfield, and musically it's almost a flashback to the album 'Everything Must Go'. There's a lot of piano in this sway along stadium rock track and they fit it perfectly. The musical interlude isn't paticularly inspiring, but it doesn't spoil the song.

'Picturesque' is a gorgeous track, infused with synths and a haunting melody, along with a long-forgotten lyric from missing bandmate Richey James. There's also a JDB guitar solo for those of you who like that sort of thing.

It's by no means the best thing they've done, but for fans it's a must, and with it being available free here, you can't really lose.

All Releases:
April 183am Ft Tracey Cole - Somebody Told Me, Black Strobe - Deceive/Play, Bodyrockers - I Like The Way, The Caesars - Jerk It Out, The Cribs - Hey Scenesters!, DNF vs. Rozalla - Everybody’s Free To Feel Good, Dynamite MC - Industry [12” only], Editors - Munich, Elvis Costello - Brilliant Mistake [7” only], Elvis Presley - Way Down, Feeble Weiner - Sally Be, Halifax - A Writers’ Reference, Hard Fi - Tied Up Too Tight, Ian Broudie - Smoke Rings EP, Infusion - Girls Can Be Cruel, Ja Rule - Caught Up, Karen O - Hello Tomorrow [Download Only], Kari Kleiv - When Can I See You [7” only], Katie Buckhaven - We’re Not The Same, Levellers - Make U Happy, Manic Street Preachers - God Save The Manics EP [Download Only], Neon - Dizziness, Nine Inch Nails - The Hand That Feeds, Quartzlock - Love Eviction, The Rakes - Retreat, Rava - Hot Tin Groove, Reuben - Blamethrower [Download Only], Slunt - The Best Thing, Steve Mac Ft Steve Smith - Loving You More, Tegan & Sara - Walking With A Ghost

Apologies for the lack of updates recently. My computer hate the blogger window, there are GCSE exams looming and I'm not listening to the radio nearly as much as normal. I'll be back on full form come the summer anyway, promise. H x