Wednesday, August 17, 2005

Hannah's Single of the Week (15/08/05)

There’s no single of the week this week, so here are a few reviews from a selection of the bunch, both good and bad.

Athlete – ‘Tourist’
Athlete - TouristThe third single to be taken from their second album of the same title, ‘Tourist’ is nothing compared to the similarly titled Radiohead song. Fair enough, it’s not unlistenable, and is better than previous effort ‘Half Light’ (but not as good as ‘Wires’). The problem is in the eyes of the ‘new’ Athlete - everything’s moody. There’s none of the infectious summery excitement of their debut. This song drags along hopelessly. The singalong, catchy, feelgood flavours of the old Athlete have gone in favour of just another Coldplay imitation, which is a crying shame. It’s just plain boring. 2/5

Babyshambles – ‘Fuck Forever’
Babyshambles - Fuck ForeverMy general dislike of Pete ‘Pointless’ Doherty prevents me from giving this single a fair hearing. After hearing about his latest escapades in Scandinavia I find it impossible to see how a staggering, puking frontman can be anyone’s idol. Anyway, the bottom line is that most swearing in songs isn’t big or clever, especially when it comes from someone who looks like he hasn’t been sober in a long time. The fans will love it – there’s just a good chance that anybody else won’t be remotely bothered. 2/5

British Whale – ‘This Town Ain’t Big Enough For The Both Of Us’
British Whale - This Town Ain't...This peculiar act is nothing more than Justin Hawkins, frontman of the Darkness in a not-particularly-good disguise. His face is on the (spectacularly bad) cover, after all, and his voice is pretty distinctive. Admittedly, as a result of this, Justin’s general arrogance, and the fact my brother thinks he’s amazing, I was all ready to hate it. However, after a few listens I can’t help liking it. It’s catchy, entertaining and even has the thumbs up from the writers of the original. I certainly won’t be buying it (it won't earn me any 'cool points'), but if JK and Joel actually play any of it on the radio I’ll definitely be listening. 3.5/5

McFly – ‘I’ll Be Ok’
McFly - I'll Be OkThese successors to Busted’s power-pop throne are the only obvious contenders to knock James Blunt from the top spot this week. With last week’s extremely low sales and their kiddie appeal, removing ‘You’re Beautiful’ should be extremely easy. The thing is, although it’ll be nice to have a change at the top, this song really isn’t up to the job. What it wants to be is a song that makes you cheer up and feel good about yourself. My perfect feelgood song is ‘National Express’ by the Divine Comedy, due to its witty lyricisms, bouncy beat and great tune. McFly are on the other end of scale and have lyrics that are simply patronising and instructive. The cover’s also the most unflattering picture of the boys I have ever seen and sees them trying to look all moody and credible. Not that they’re contradicting themselves, or anything… 2.5/5

Super Furry Animals – ‘Lazerbeam’
Super Furry Animals - LazerbeamGreat sounds, interesting textures – the verse of this new single from the Furries has so much promise. All this song needs is a perfect chorus and it could be a contender for the WL single of the year. Oh, wait a minute, it’s dull, unimaginative, repetitive and bordering on grating. I really want to like this song, but nah – it’s just not going to happen. Instead I bought ‘Songbook’, the band’s singles collection from their career so far. Heaps more enjoyable, I think you’ll find. 3/5

More Releases: (ones we’ve heard this week in bold)
213 - Groupie Luv EP, Alabama 3 - How Can I Protect You?, Alps - World At War, Athlete – Tourist, Babyshambles - **** Forever, Black Rebel Motorcycle Club - Ain’t No Easy Way, British Whale - This Town Ain’t Big Enough For Both Of Us, Broadcast - America’s Boy [7" only], Cagedbaby - Disco Biscuit [7" only], Cherubs - A Man Of No Importance, Daliah - Funny Little Mystery, Fischerspooner - Never Win, Forward Russia - Thirteen/Fourteen, Howard Rider - Move It/Fever [7" only], Iron Maiden - The Trooper, Jamiroquai - Seven Days In Sunny June, Jim Noir - A Quiet Man EP, Johnathon Rice - Kiss Me Goodbye, Jose Gonzales - Stay In The Shade EP, Juliet Turner - Business As Usual, King Creosote - Favourite Girl [12" only], Klub Kidz - Incomplete/You’re Beautiful, Kubichek - Nightjoy [7" only], Lake Trout - The Riddle EP, Lil Love - Give A Little Love, Magnet - Hold On [7" only], McFly - I’ll Be Okay, New Rhodes - From The Beginning, Oceansize - Heaven Alive, Parabeats Ft Carmen Reece - U Got Me, Patricia Vonne - Joe’s Gone Ridin’, Paul Johnson - She Got Me On, Sigur Ros - Glosoli [Download only], Snoop Dogg - Ups And Downs, Sons and Daughters - Taste The Last Girl, Super Furry Animals – Laserbeam, Weezer - We Are All On Drugs, Xavier - Give Me The Night